Let the 5th Cycle Begin

(taking a break from my long stories…)

My 5th medicated cycle is about to begin.  I say ‘about to’ because my AF is late.  I’ve been spotting for the last few days but no full flow.  It’s annoying.  AF late for us IF girls should mean good news.  In my case, I’m not pregnant but my body after my lap is going haywire.

I met with Dr. S yesterday.  I thought some point during yesterday AF would start so I went in to see him to discuss this new cycle.  He suggested we do another cycle of Letrozole and if that doesn’t work, we can move onto injectables.  I cringed and said I’m ready to move on.  We’ve done 4 cycles of the same thing, although it was only my first after treating my endo, I want to do something different.  Doing the same thing over and over again that didn’t work just seemed stupid.  No offense, Dr S.

I asked about DH’s numbers.  He said they aren’t great but it’s okay.  It was 2M post wash. If it got any worse, he would send us to IVF, which he does not do.  There’s another doctor in his practice (they co-own it I think) who when we met with him for our last IUI because it was a Sunday and he was on call, said if it didn’t work this time, he would send DH to an oncologist.  I know different doctors have/can have varying opinions but I’m a little pissed mine is not proactive about this.  I like the other doctor but he’s solid booked, and does not take any new patients.  I like Dr. S  but I am losing faith in his ‘it’s a matter of when for you’ statement.

Even though AF hasn’t come full force, he said yesterday would be CD 1 since I’m spotting and start taking Letrozole.  And then starting Sunday I would do Menopur injections for 3 days and come in for an ultrasound.  I asked to push that out a day so I would start CD 2 (according to him but I’m not starting my count until AF comes full force) and I would go in for an u/s Thursday.

This is going to be a tricky cycle.  I am scared of needles and DH and I have been struggling to get just one needle in me (HSG trigger) per cycle.  Now we have 3 so far planned and Dr. S said we would probably need more.

Another worry I have is our planned vacation for Hawaii.  We’re leaving on the 8th which is CD 16 (if we count yesterday as CD1).  I’ve always had my IUI before CD 14 until now but since AF is late and we’re on a new meds, I’m afraid I might miss my IUI.  Punch holes in my tummy and no IUI?  I’m not willing to give up my vacation so it’s either IUI or Hawaii.  At this point, I’m taking Hawaii.  Maybe medication and TI will work.  Wishing for that miracle story.

‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight’  Proverbs 3:5-6

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

