Long Story Part 5

On a August Tuesday morning, I went in for a laparoscopy.  I won’t go into too much details about the surgery.  All I know is that what we thought was mild endometriosis was actually stage III.  There was a lot of scar tissue.  He also found a 3cm fibroid.  He left that alone as he says it will not impact infertility (or fertility).

I went in for surgery around 6:45am and I think we came home before noon.  I went straight for bed and gave my approval for DH to do some work.  He did take the day off, told his boss that I was going into surgery but what was he going to to anyway?  I was still very high drowsy from the anesthesia so I slept for a few hours.  I felt really good when I woke up but my throat still hurt A LOT from the tubes they stuck down my throat.  DH made me some chicken noodle soup and I managed to eat some soup minus the noodles and chicken.  I watched some videos on netflix and slept a little more.

The next day I would say was the worst day of the recovery process.  When I woke up, I felt like my entire body had been beaten with a bat.  I couldn’t pull myself up as my abs were so weak.  I sent an email to my boss right away saying I felt worse than yesterday and that I would not be working at all (even turn on my laptop to answer a couple emails, which I had originally planned to do).  For anyone scheduled for a lap, I would suggest that you definitely take that second day off as well, make sure anything you need is arm’s length away and be prepared to be in pain.

Dr. S prescribed me ibuprofen (for pain & inflammation) as well as some narcotics.  I didn’t want to take the strong meds and was hoping to avoid it.  But that second day was so horrible that I did end up taking a dose or two of it.  Thursday and Friday was better and I did work a bit.  By the weekend, I was able to go out, take a stroll around the mall with DH.

I have 2 scars (the 3rd one is my belly button and can’t really tell it was operated on) in my low abdomen, right above my pelvic bones.  I can’t see it at all with pants on but with underwear, it does peak out a little.  I plan to be in a bikini in Hawaii in couple weeks but I’m not too worried about the scar.  It is about an inch long and I don’t see it going away anytime soon though.

Reading up on endometriosis, it does come back for most (if not all) women.  So if I’m not pregnant in the next 4-6 months, we really won’t know for sure if the surgery worked and if endo was the reason for my infertility. The 4th IUI, same protocol as the first three did not work.  I was so hopeful since it was our first after the lap.  Now that we’re moving onto injectables, hopefully my ovaries will realize that if it doesn’t do its job properly, I will make it work even harder with some crazy meds.

Let this 5th IUI be on last PLEASE.  I don’t know how long I can keep going on a schedule that I can’t control, be bitter about any pregnant people I see at work, on the streets and especially on facebook.  I want to stop being bitter.  I want to stop blocking friends with babies.  I want to plan for my maternity leave.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

