IVF1.0 Update #1

First of all, Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you and your family have a great, healthy and happy 2014!

I wanted to start updating on IVF but instead of random posts here and there, I will just start numbering them.  So that if anyone come across my blog in the future, it’ll be easy for them to follow the timeline.  I know I had difficulty understanding what actually goes on with an actual IVF cycle.  Even with all the literature out there on the Internet, I am still to this date confused on what I should expect for the next 6-8 weeks.  Hopefully this will help not only myself but all you ladies out there contemplating on IVF.

During our consultation with Dr. Nice, I had an ultrasound where he checked for my follicles (It was about a week before my period showed up).  He said I had a good number of them and my lining was good as well.

I called the office on CD1, which was Christmas eve, and I went in for a blood draw on CD3.  This blood draw can be done any day between CD1-4.  The nurse gave me a shot of lupron which I administered myself that day at 5:30pm.  I went in for another blood draw 16 hours later, at 9:30am the next day.

That afternoon, the nurse called with my results.

  • FSH: 8.0 (good if under 9)
  • E2 (estadiol) – 40 (good if under 50)
  • E2 (after lurpon shot) – 213 or 250 (I can’t remember exactly what she said)

So I pass with flying colors!  The nurse said they expect a change in E2 to be about 20-30%.  Mine was crazy 200 something %.  And this was with 20% less lupron than they prescribed because I accidentally squirted some out in the air before injecting myself!

One thing that worries me though is my increase in FSH.  My FSH in May 2013 was 7.0.  7 months later, it’s 8.0.  With a relatively low AMH (1.6), I will ask the doctor if this is an early sign of premature ovarian failure.  Good thing is I am starting IVF now and hopefully I’ll have enough embryos to freeze that I can use for our baby #2.  Yes, I am wishing and hoping that far ahead!  I am hopeful for IVF1.0 and I will keep this hope up until I get bad news.  I realized that this is the only way I will get through this.  Trying to keep my hopes down is more stressful than being let down with bad news later on.

So to summarize so far:

  • CD1 : Period Start. Call office to schedule appointment.
  • CD3: Baseline blood draw for FSH and E2.  Lupron shot that night.
  • CD4: 16 hours after lurpon shot, another blood draw to look for change in E2.  This determines how much stim the doctor will prescribe me.
  • CD5: Start on birth control pills.  I was prescribed 2 months worth, but probably won’t use the second pack.
  • Now just waiting for them to give me a schedule.

The start of 2014 is with BCPs and I’m bored.  But this gives me time to catch up on work since I know I’ll be out of commission for a week with the retrieval and transfer at the end of the month.  My company was in shutdown mode for the last week and even afterwards, not many people are back to work.  So I’ll be heading home early today to enjoy the last bit of free time I have left before the crazy work starts piling up next week.

I hope everyone had a great Christmas and New Years Day!

Update: I forgot to mention all the blood test I had to do (and DH) to get IVF started.  The clinic had a list of mandatory as well as recommended tests so I went to see my doctor to get those done.

  1. flu & tetanus shot
  2. Blood type
  3. Immunity for Rubella, Chicken Pox
  4. Hemoglobin A1C
  5. Hepatitis B, C
  6. HIV, HTLV
  7. Syphilis

I also did some kind of genetic testing that would tell me if I am a carrier of any diseases I may pass on.  I did this during my consult with another RE so I need to call them to let me know the results which will be a little awkward.  But they were under my insurance so it was cheaper to do it with them than with Dr. Nice.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “IVF1.0 Update #1”

  1. Adi says :

    Do you read Kasey at Stupid Broken Eggs? She’s doing her first IVF and is posting a lot of info, too. Just figured you guys might be able to help each other out 🙂

  2. Caroline says :

    Happy 2014!! Hope this first round works for you!!!

Leave a Reply

