And then there was two…

Warning: Ultrasound pictures below.  I *totally* understand seeing ultrasound pictures can be hard on some of us going through this journey called infertility.  Please skip if your heart doesn’t allow it.

Finally.  The day of the ultrasound.  Got there on time, sat down and then DH asks ‘does your bladder need to be full’?  I looked it up online quickly and yes.  It’s better to have a full bladder.  So I start chugging.  We were led to the back room quite after our original appointment time.  I get that I’m not priority and I’m completely okay with it.

And then the shock — the coordinator (who I’ve met for the first time) tells me to undress waist down.  Wait, WHAT?!  I thought I was done with all that.  Why???  She goes and asks the nurse and comes back (like I said, she’s new) and says because we’re early in the pregnancy, trans vaginal ultrasound show better than abdominal in early pregnancy.  Okay, undress.

Nurse comes in, sticks in the wand and then says, ‘I’m going to have you empty your bladder’.  Abdominal ultrasound = full bladder.  Vaginal ultrasound = empty bladder.  I give DH a dirty look and go empty.  Feels good.

Go back in, undress, sit down and to my relief, nurse comes back in quickly.  Wand goes in, and we see this.

10-40-27-blog

I could see something flickering — the baby’s heartbeat.  Could tell it was good although she didn’t say how fast.

Then the nurse moves the wand around.. and we see this.

10-40-49 blog

Another one.  Yup.  There’s two.  What we’ve been suspecting all along.  To be honest, I was dreading it.  But seeing the second sac with a heart beating brought a smile to my face.  It doesn’t matter if it’s two.  I just hope they are healthy and well.

Nurse then took a ‘family photo’.

10-41-05 blog

Both.  Sound and well.  She says their heartbeats are around 160 which is good.  She didn’t tell me the size of the yolk sac and I forgot to ask. Good thing she gave us these pictures since I could tell one is at 4.08mm and the other at 4.8mm.  Not sure if that’s normal but she says they both look good so I’ll take her word for it.

She did caution us not to tell friends about having twins.   There’s a 25-30% possibility that it might reduce as this is an IVF pregnancy.  That percentage was a lot higher than I thought.  It’s higher than the possibility of both implanting!  I don’t think I can resist telling my mom who’s anxious to know but I will try to refrain from telling friends.  The next ultrasound is in two weeks and nurse made it sound like if both are healthy and make it to then, they could both make it after the first trimester.

So another waiting for two weeks.  The nausea, headaches and fatigue is on full force.  It does help after I eat and the nurse did suggest I have 7 smaller meals than 2-3 big meals a day.  Easier said than done though.  Twin pregnancy is supposed to bring on more symptoms as your hormone levels are higher.  That’ll be my excuse for being lazy for the next few weeks!  Until the next ultrasound, I pray that God keeps both of them healthy and in the right path of growth.  That he keeps them safe and secure.  Not baby.  Babies.  Wow.

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “And then there was two…”

  1. Isabelle says :

    Yay! Excited for you. Babies. Wow. Rest up girl! Hope that they grow very well.

  2. Wife of a Sailor says :

    I say tell whomever you want WHATEVER you want. Why SHOULDN’T you tell your friends you are pregnant with twins if you want to? I don’t understand the nurse’s thoughts on this.

    I’ve had friends who were told the same thing. I mean, if, God forbid, they should lose one of them (and some have), what does that have to be a secret? Why can’t they tell friends they are grieving a loss? Why is it all hush-hush?

    I totally understand not wanting to tell people because that’s your choice. It’s up to the PARENTS what they want to tell and how much they want to tell. It’s kinda like I don’t understand why people are told not to announce a pregnancy until the second trimester…. why? So they can’t lean on anyone if they were to lose it? Because baby loss isn’t important enough to be talked about? This is why people feel alone when they go through things like this.

    Totally not a rant against you. This is totally a rant against a professional telling YOU you shouldn’t tell YOUR FRIENDS about YOUR BABIES. Her giving you the statistics is her job. Telling you what you should and shouldn’t divulge is not.

  3. Jen says :

    Congrats, how exciting!! I didn’t realize the chance of one of the twins reducing was so high either! I hope that’s not the case for you. Sorry you’re feeling so bad, but it’s so worth it!

  4. Wife of a Sailor says :

    Also, like I said on Twitter….. sooooooo happy and excited for you! Hearing heartbeats… amazing!

  5. itsonitswaytoday says :

    I agree with Wife of a Sailor! We told everyone last week at 6.5 weeks. I didn’t realize the statistics were that high though, or that it would be any different than a natural pregnancy. Congrats!

  6. Megan says :

    Wow, congrats!!!

  7. Elisha says :

    oh wow! Congrats! When I was reading the sentence about how you could see the heart beat flicker I had a vision of me seeing my future baby heart beat flicker and it made me smile! Thank you for that! Hugs!!

    waitingforbabybird.com

  8. somedaymama says :

    So wonderful. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. ourloststork says :

    Beautiful news 🙂 Congratulations 🙂

Leave a Reply

